“Life is what happens to you while you’re busy making other plans.”

What I didn’t know about life back when I was thirty – eight was that I needed coping strategies.  Heck, I didn’t even know coping strategies were necessary.  If I were to have been asked the question, “how do you cope with life”, I wouldn’t have been able to answer.

What do you mean, “how do I cope?”  What is there to cope from?  What does that word even mean?  But when I reflect back on what life was all about some twenty years ago, there was no reason to cope – life was my oyster.

I had it all back when I was twenty: life, energy, dreams, imagination, and an elastic heart.  As with everything, time and experience have carved away at those youthful aspirations.  I’ve been able to take part in many beautiful and wonderful experiences throughout my forty – three years.  Each time I experienced something, I did it, felt it and moved on from it.  There was no sense in sticking around because life always had something new on the horizon.

When I walked out of my job, I was about thirty – seven or thirty – eight.  Although I was getting older, my mind still was similar to that of a twenty year old.  All the patterns I created throughout the years etched their way through my mind and ruled there until something new erased it clean. Something painful in life had to happen in order to wake me up so that a shift could occur.

As I was wrapping up one life lesson, a new lesson was waiting in the wings.

 

 

A 43 year man shedding and blogging about the last 43 years of his life.

Leave a Reply

